Welcome to CIREQ’s new website !

CALL FOR PAPERS : CIREQ Interdisciplinary PhD Student Symposium on Climate Change (in virtual format), June 17-18, 2021


Call for Papers (pdf)

Climate change has taken central stage in recent debates, it is a defining challenge of our time. According to Mark Carney, the former head of the Bank of Canada who serves as the UN’s special envoy for climate change and finance, “We can’t self-isolate from climate change. Ultimately, we’ll all be affected. So we all have to act.” A collaborative effort of scientists and researchers is crucial to develop climate change solutions that also take into account related environmental and socioeconomic issues.

In this context, we are pleased to announce the CIREQ Interdisciplinary PhD Student Symposium on Climate Change. The symposium will take place on June 17-18, 2021, in virtual format via Zoom platform. The symposium program will feature panel discussions on interdisciplinary research on climate change and climate change careers as well as virtual networking events.

Our mission is to foster the exchange of scientific knowledge and lay the foundation for collaboration among doctoral students conducting research on climate change; facilitate safe, open discussion on the advancements in on-going research on climate change mitigation and adaptation.

We welcome the submissions of abstracts of maximum 400 words through the following submission form https://cireqmontreal.com/?p=33851. The abstract should at least include research objectives, methodology and preliminary results. The submission deadline is May 23.

PhD students who have not yet defended their thesis from all disciplines who conduct research on climate change are invited, including but not limited to:

  • economics and finance of climate change;
  • environmental science, management and engineering;
  • climate change political science and sociology.

Notifications of acceptance will be sent by May 26.

There is no submission or registration fee for the symposium.

 

The symposium is organized by CIREQ in collaboration with the departments of Economics; Geography, Planning & Environment and the Loyola Sustainability Research Centre at Concordia University.

 

 

 

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Bienvenue au nouveau site web du CIREQ !

APPEL À COMMUNICATIONS : Colloque CIREQ interdisciplinaire sur le changement climatique pour les étudiants de doctorat (en format virtuel), 17-18 juin 2021


Appel à communications (pdf)

Les changements climatiques occupent maintenant une place centrale dans les débats et représentent un défi déterminant de notre époque. Selon Mark Carney, l’ancien chef de la Banque du Canada et envoyé spécial de l’ONU pour les changements climatiques et les finances : « Nous ne pouvons pas nous isoler des changements climatiques. Ultimement, nous serons tous affectés. Nous devons donc tous agir. » Un effort collaboratif entre scientifiques et chercheurs est crucial pour développer des solutions aux changements climatiques qui tiennent aussi compte des enjeux environnementaux et socioéconomiques qui y sont liés.

Dans ce contexte, nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer le Colloque CIREQ interdisciplinaire sur les changements climatiques pour les étudiants au doctorat. Le colloque aura lieu les 17 et 18 juin 2021 sur la plateforme Zoom. Il comprendra tables rondes sur la recherche interdisciplinaire et les opportunités de carrière en lien avec les changements climatiques, ainsi que des événements de réseautage virtuel.

Notre mission est de favoriser l’échange interdisciplinaire de connaissances scientifiques et de jeter les bases d’une collaboration entre doctorants menant des recherches sur les changements climatiques. Nous souhaitons faciliter des discussions ouvertes sur la recherche sur l’atténuation et l’adaptation aux changements climatiques.

Nous accueillerons les soumissions de résumés d’un maximum de 400 mots à l’adresse suivante: https://cireqmontreal.com/?p=33851. Le résumé devrait au minimum inclure les objectifs de recherche, la méthodologie et les résultats préliminaires. La date limite des soumissions est le 23 mai.

Les candidats au doctorat de toutes les disciplines dont la recherche est en lien avec les changements climatiques sont invités, incluant sans s’y limiter : 

  • Économie et finances du changement climatique
  • Sciences environnementales, gestion et génie
  • Politiques du changement climatique et société

Les notifications d’acceptation seront transmises au plus tard le 26 mai. 

Aucun frais de soumission ni d’inscription.

 

Le colloque est organisé par le CIREQ en collaboration avec les départements d’économie et de géographie, aménagement urbain et environnement ainsi que le Centre de recherche sur la durabilité Loyola de l’Université Concordia.

événements à venir

Il n'y a pas d'événements à venir pour le moment.