Welcome to CIREQ’s new website !

1st Annual CIREQ Interdisciplinary PhD Student Symposium on Climate Change

 



 

Organizers

  • Olha Hnatyshyn, Department of Economics, Concordia University
  • Alexandre Pace, Department of Geography, Planning & Environment, Concordia University
  • Étienne Guertin, Department of Geography, Planning & Environment, Concordia University

 

The CIREQ Interdisciplinary PhD Student Symposium on Climate Change is organized in collaboration with the departments of Economics; Geography, Planning & Environment; and the Loyola Sustainability Research Centre and 4TH SPACE at Concordia University.

The symposium program will feature:  

  • Panel discussion on interdisciplinary research on climate change where experts from Concordia University, Université du Québec à Montréal, University of Victoria, University of Waterloo and Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières will introduce their perspectives on the topic. 
     
  • Panel discussion on climate change careers where experts from Environment and Climate Change Canada, The Climate Reality Project Canada, Hydro-Québec, Waste Not, Want Not Compost Project at Concordia University will discuss current employment opportunities in the field.
     
  • PhD students oral presentations.
     
  • Virtual networking events.

 

Registration

Registration is free but required.
To register, please go to the registration page: https://www.concordia.ca/cuevents/offices/provost/fourth-space/programming/2021/06/17/cireq-interdisciplinary-phd-student-symposium-on-climate-change.html?c=/next-gen/4th-space/calendar.

 

Program

The program is available here.

  

Call for Submissions (pdf) The submission period is now closed. (21-05-25)

Climate change has taken central stage in recent debates, it is a defining challenge of our time. According to Mark Carney, the former head of the Bank of Canada who serves as the UN’s special envoy for climate change and finance, “We can’t self-isolate from climate change. Ultimately, we’ll all be affected. So we all have to act.” A collaborative effort of scientists and researchers is crucial to develop climate change solutions that also take into account related environmental and socioeconomic issues.

In this context, we are pleased to announce the CIREQ Interdisciplinary PhD Student Symposium on Climate Change. The symposium will take place on June 17-18, 2021, in virtual format via Zoom platform. The symposium program will feature panel discussions on interdisciplinary research on climate change and climate change careers as well as virtual networking events.

Our mission is to foster the exchange of scientific knowledge and lay the foundation for collaboration among doctoral students conducting research on climate change; facilitate safe, open discussion on the advancements in on-going research on climate change mitigation and adaptation.

PhD students who have not yet defended their thesis from all disciplines who conduct research on climate change are invited, including but not limited to:

  • economics and finance of climate change;
  • environmental science, management and engineering;
  • climate change political science and sociology.

Notifications of acceptance will be sent by May 26.

There is no submission or registration fee for the symposium.

 

Information

cireq.itd.phdsymposium@gmail.com

 

Upcoming Events

There are no upcoming events at this time.

Bienvenue au nouveau site web du CIREQ !

1er colloque CIREQ interdisciplinaire annuel sur le changement climatique pour les étudiants au doctorat

 


  

Organisateurs

  • Olha Hnatyshyn, Department of Economics, Université Concordia
  • Alexandre Pace, Department of Geography, Planning & Environment, Université Concordia 
  • Étienne Guertin, Department of Geography, Planning & Environment, Université Concordia 

 

Le Colloque CIREQ interdisciplinaire sur le changement climatique pour les étudiants de doctorat est organisé en collaboration avec les départements d’économie et de géographie, aménagement urbain et environnement ainsi que le Centre de recherche sur la durabilité Loyola et 4TH SPACE de l’Université Concordia.

Le programme du colloque comprendra les éléments suivants :

  • Une table ronde sur la recherche interdisciplinaire sur les changements climatiques où des experts de l’Université Concordia, de l’Université du Québec à Montréal, de l’Université de Victoria, de l’Université de Waterloo et de l’Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières présenteront leurs perspectives sur le sujet.
  • Une table ronde sur les carrières dans le domaine des changements climatiques où des experts d’Environnement et Changement climatique Canada, du Climate Reality Project Canada, Hydro-Québec, du Waste Not, Want Not Compost Project de l’Université Concordia discuteront des possibilités d’emploi actuelles dans le domaine.
  • Présentations orales des étudiants au doctorat.
  • Événements de réseautage virtuel.

 

Inscription

Les inscriptions pour le colloque sont gratuites mais obligatoires.
Pour vous inscrire, rendez vous sur la page d’inscription: https://www.concordia.ca/cuevents/offices/provost/fourth-space/programming/2021/06/17/cireq-interdisciplinary-phd-student-symposium-on-climate-change.html?c=/next-gen/4th-space/calendar.

 

Programme

Le programme est disponible ici.

 

Appel à communications (pdf) : La période de soumissions est maintenant terminée (21-05-25).

Les changements climatiques occupent maintenant une place centrale dans les débats et représentent un défi déterminant de notre époque. Selon Mark Carney, l’ancien chef de la Banque du Canada et envoyé spécial de l’ONU pour les changements climatiques et les finances : « Nous ne pouvons pas nous isoler des changements climatiques. Ultimement, nous serons tous affectés. Nous devons donc tous agir. » Un effort collaboratif entre scientifiques et chercheurs est crucial pour développer des solutions aux changements climatiques qui tiennent aussi compte des enjeux environnementaux et socioéconomiques qui y sont liés.

Dans ce contexte, nous avons le plaisir d’annoncer le Colloque CIREQ interdisciplinaire sur les changements climatiques pour les étudiants au doctorat. Le colloque aura lieu les 17 et 18 juin 2021 sur la plateforme Zoom. Il comprendra tables rondes sur la recherche interdisciplinaire et les opportunités de carrière en lien avec les changements climatiques, ainsi que des événements de réseautage virtuel.

Notre mission est de favoriser l’échange interdisciplinaire de connaissances scientifiques et de jeter les bases d’une collaboration entre doctorants menant des recherches sur les changements climatiques. Nous souhaitons faciliter des discussions ouvertes sur la recherche sur l’atténuation et l’adaptation aux changements climatiques.

Les candidats au doctorat de toutes les disciplines dont la recherche est en lien avec les changements climatiques sont invités, incluant sans s’y limiter : 

  • Économie et finances du changement climatique
  • Sciences environnementales, gestion et génie
  • Politiques du changement climatique et société

Les notifications d’acceptation seront transmises au plus tard le 26 mai. 

Aucun frais de soumission ni d’inscription.

 

Information

cireq.itd.phdsymposium@gmail.com

événements à venir

Il n'y a pas d'événements à venir pour le moment.